Dree Peremans - trombone, compositions, arrangements / Ewout Stones - piano / Jo Hermans - trumpet, flugelhorn / Carlo Nardozza - trumpet, flugelhorn / Bruno Vansina - alto sax, clarinet, flute / Wietse Meys - tenor saxophone / Joppe Bestevaar - baritone sax / Jos Machtel - double bass / Toni Vitacolonna - drums

Rebirth::Collective is a Belgian jazz band, founded by trombone player Dree Peremans in 2010. The group is an nonet, six horns and rhythm section (piano/upright bass/drums), and functions as a small bigband, with compositions and arrangements written mainly by its leader.

Sound- and stylewise it builds from the hard-swinging tradition of bebop and hardbop of the fifties and sixties, yet with a modern and youthful twist. Due to the individual solo qualities of all of its members, combined with the power of the eight-piece ensemble and a versatile rhythm section, the music develops from sensitive open- ended ballad playing to burning up-tempos, or soulful groovy moments and exciting solo battles. All of this results in an entertaining mix that leaves the audience very excited and wanting more.

Rebirth::Collective has been Artist in ‘Residence’ in one of Belgium´s most legendary jazz clubs, Café Hopper in Antwerp, for two years now. The band has been building its repertoire and its audience and they released their debut album in April 2013 by SoulFactory Records, the new record label owned by South African but Belgium based singer Tutu Puoane and Belgian piano player Ewout Pierreux.

For their upcoming album they collaborated with Jesse van Ruller to do a fresh and innovating take on the Strayhorn songbook. Van Ruller won the Thelonious Monk Competition in Washington in 1995. The jury, consisting of Pat Metheny, John Scofield, Jim Hall, Pat Martino and Mark Whitfield, was of the opinion that van Ruller is one of the most promising talents of his time. Since then he has been recognized worldwide as one of the leading voices on his instrument and has performed with numerous renowned musicians and ensembles amongst which are George Duke, Joe Lovano, Pat Metheny, Peter Erskine, Mike Stern, Tom Harrell, Philip Catherine, Toots Thielemans, the Roy Hargrove Quintet, Christian McBride, Seamus Blake, Metropole Orchestra, Asko Ensemble, WDR Big Band, Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and the Berliner Philharmoniker.

10€ / 8€ (students, jobseekers, members of the JS).
We do not accept any credit or debit card. No reservation needed.